SavageBob

Suggestions for scenarios that begin with the unexplained?

SavageBob

So, I'm fairly new to Lovecraftian roleplaying,  but I'm planning to run a 1930s game where the PCs are a group of paranormal investigators. I don't have much time to develop my own scenarios, so I've been looking for some good ones to use that I can simply adapt to the era (since it's ten years later than the vast majority of Cthulhu adventures). The problem is that a lot of CoC and ToC scenarios seem to begin with a seemingly mundane mystery that turns out to have some paranormal or mythos elements (if not cause). I'm thinking this will be a pulpier game rather than a more purist experience.

With that in mind, can anyone recommend some good adventures that begin with the unexplained? What adventures are out there where they start with a ghost sighting, a bizarre occurrence, etc.? And as a secondary consideration, how might a traditional scenario be adapted so that the mythos or unexplained/paranormal element gets moved to the hook rather than a later reveal?

Thanks for any suggestions!

4Acrossisemu

The Haunting, Straight up haunting. 

Wail of the Witch - Woman dies of 'shock' or fear. 

Westchester house - Haunted house, based on the Winchester estate. 

Crimson Letters - starts with a close door murder, victim dying in a strange way

Servants of the Lake - It start mundane, but premise can be easily changed to investigators looking into odd occurrences at the lakeside, This is one of my all time favourite scenarios

Dead Light - Straight up they run into a horror. 

eternalchampion

The watchers in the sky, a nice ToC scenario in the 30s.

SavageBob

Awesome, thanks for the suggestions so far. I'm all ears if others have ideas, too.

ColonelAutumn9155

If you can get your hands on "The Great Old Ones" supplement, it has a scenario in it that I think might be perfect for your group.