Merudo

"Immune to blows and cuts"?

Merudo

I'm studying a scenario and I notice that one of the monster is "immune to blows and cut; fire, magic, and enchanted weapons harm them normally".

I assume this means all firearms would be ineffective. But what about grenades and explosives though - would they work? They are not technically fire, but an explosion seems close enough.

yronimoswhateley

Up to you, I suppose - roll with what sounds reasonable.  What's the nature of this monster?

If it's immune to those forms of damage because it's incorporeal/ghostly, or made of "Different Atoms", then I could easily imagine that grenades and explosives might not affect it much, or might not affect it in an expected way: just treat it like what you think would happen if someone tried to throw a grenade at a ghost!

If it's immune to those forms of damage simply because it's heavily armored with ordinary matter, that might be a different story altogether:  perhaps it can be damaged if you hit it hard enough, and maybe a grenade or dynamite might just about be able to hit it hat hard.  Do you imagine it's a bit like a knight in steel armor?  What do you imagine might happen if a grenade is tossed at that knight?

When in doubt, roll with either the "Rule of Scary", "Rule of Weird", "Rule of Cool", or "Rule of Fun":  these rules probably won't be written explicitly in the rule book, but they're there in spirit, and they basically mean that, when given a choice between what the rule book says (or fails to say) a monster is like, and whatever your group will think is Scary/Weird/Cool/Fun, you should probably choose what your group will think is Scary, Weird, Cool, or Fun!

Shuikkanen

In movies grenade explosions seem more like fuel canisters going off. But there's no fire -- a shrapnel grenade literally does "blow and cut" damage when you think about it.

yronimoswhateley