Meleiro

Help for an Adventure Idea - Yig vs Tsathoggua

Meleiro

I started playing Call of Cthulhu this month and I am the Keeper of the game, I just finished a short-story I found on the web and now I want to start an adventure of my own, below are a summary of my idea and some questions of how to improve it.

I was on the Youtube when I see on the recommendations list "5 Mysterious Islands" and thought to myself "this is Call of Cthulhu material", the history that caught most my interest was the Bermeja Island: In 1921 (perfect timing) this whole island north of Yucatan peninsula just disappeared from the map and no one knows the cause, there are theories, even one conspiratory about how the USA would have bombarded the island to avoid the Mexican Government exploit oil reserves on the island, because the region is divided by both countries economics zones.
And that is how my idea began: The USA government wants to study the viability of oil extraction on the island and ask for the help of a university (don't know which one, I am not a USA citizen and I'm accepting suggestions), the university accepts BUT in return wants to study the possibilities of Mesoamerican ruins on the island, based on discoveries in Aztecs archeological sites mentioning a old city in a sacred island, and so it begins this expedition. Seems like a win-win deal, right?

Each one of the players is invited to participate in the expedition,  so everyone gets its own scene explaining that based on their character's background (that until now are yet unknown), during the travel the players be introduced to the circumstances that I explained above and they will describe events of their own choosing  to help the players feel more like a group, after that a great storm appears and the waves cause the shipwreck on the coast of the island.