Jump to content
CthulhuBob

Skill Use, Pools, Depleted Pools, and Spends

Recommended Posts

CthulhuBob

I thought I remembered seeing something in the rules, which now I don't see, about using Abilities in which you have used all your pool points. Which makes me question my grasp of the rules regarding Abilities, so are the following true?

 

You can *only* use Investigative Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool.

 

You can *only* use General Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool.

 

You can still use Investigative Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool when those points are depleted. You simply cannot do spends.

 

You can still use General Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool when those points are depleted. You simply cannot do spends.

 

Thanks in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Tony Williams

You can *only* use Investigative Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool - correct

 

You can *only* use General Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool - you can also use Firearms, Weapons and Scuffling if you have zero rating, but you have -2 damage modifier, have to say who you are attacking before any attacks are made and can shoot yourself or an ally on a roll of 1.

 

You can still use Investigative Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool when those points are depleted. You simply cannot do spends - correct

 

You can still use General Abilities in which you have purchased a point pool when those points are depleted. You simply cannot do spends - correct

 

Download the Condensed Rules for Trail of Cthulhu PDF in my signature below and the Vade Mecum de Vestigio Cthulhus from this thread for help with the rules

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
CthulhuBob

". . . you can also use Firearms, Weapons and Scuffling if you have zero rating, but you have -2 damage modifier, have to say who you are attacking before any attacks are made and can shoot yourself or an ally on a roll of 1."

 

Ah, right. I was forgetting that, thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.