Modern

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Chaon306

Chaon306

Neophyte

• 1 posts

Posted 09 December 2017 - 09:06 PM

Hi there everyone, I found out about this site thanks to Seth Skorkowsky, and he said somewhere on this site someone converted the classic The Haunting into modern Cthulhu setting to update and change things. I am relatively new to DMing and starting with the adventures in The Things We Leave Behind scenario book, and I'd love to have access to such a resource since I'm unsure how to do it myself.

#2 ElijahWhateley

ElijahWhateley

Greater Servitor

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,233 posts

Posted 10 December 2017 - 07:06 AM

I think people regularly update the Haunting (and other 20s games) to the present day. I don't think you'll find anything written up, because it's not really necessary. Nothing about the basic premise is linked to the 1920s - either move up the dates for all the incidents that happened around the Chapel of Contemplation, or add a few more incidents over the course of the 20th century, possibly including the house going unoccupied for a while (moving the Macarios purchasing the house up to the present). Make the icebox a fridge, and make it a bit more difficult for the investigators to get into the asylum to see the Macarios.

In the Mythos, there is no such thing as cannon.

#3 DeUniversumMysteriis

DeUniversumMysteriis

Knight of the Outer Void

• PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 10 December 2017 - 11:51 AM

Hi Chaon306,

You can finds suggestions for converting The Haunting to the Modern era on the Yog-Sothoth wiki : here.

As stated above by ElijahWhateley, it's not really complicated to convert the scenario.

My 2 cents on the matter :