• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Patterns

Patterns

Master

• Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 09 October 2017 - 01:15 PM

My dream scenario for Call of Cthulhu is one where every single skill on the character sheet is equally viable in solving the mystery and coming to a satisfying conclusion. So if a player shows up to the game with an investigator that is a geologist, fluent in French and a self-taught accountant they are still going to feel competent and have a good time. It is obviously almost impossible to cover all the bases, especially when it comes to things like languages, but a scenario where the Keeper doesn't have to go out of their way to cater to players with odd skill choices really appeals to me.

I haven't read a lot of published scenarios for Call of Cthulhu. Are there any out there that utilize a wide array of the skills available for players? Do the grand campaigns, Masks of Nyarlathotep and Horror on the Orient Express, have room for odd skill combinations to shine or is it all about Spot Hidden and Library Use? Are there any smaller scenarios that are jam packed with alternative solutions and optional clue trails? Have any of you planned homebrew mysteries where you didn't have to go back and add more clues for players who surprised you with their skill selections?

#2 KnygathinZhaum

KnygathinZhaum

Knight of the Outer Void

• Patron
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • LocationChapel Hill, NC

Posted 09 October 2017 - 02:10 PM