Photo
- - - - -

Question on Running Blackwater Creek Scenario: Extent of Mother's Gift?

Jazz Age

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Lupine1927

Lupine1927

Neophyte

• 3 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 04:46 PM

Hello everyone! I'm new to Keeping CoC, and I wanted to start out with running Blackwater Creek, the scenario that came with the Keeper's screen. However, there was part of the scenario I found confusing, and I was hoping to find out how you guys handled it when you ran it.

Specifically, I'm confused about progression of the Mother's Gift. From what I understand, two months pass in-game before the PCs even get to Blackwater Creek, and all that time the Mother's Gift has been seeping into the soil, contaminating crops and water, infecting livestock, and so on---and the locals have been consuming a fair amount of that stuff for all that time. Considering PCs are supposed to make CON checks every time they come into contact with the water, drink the whiskey, or eat any local food---and every two hours from then on, if I read that right---then how in the world is Blackwater Creek not chock full of people just as far gone with the Mother's Gift as Ben Carmody?

I know that most of the townsfolk are supposed to be at Stage 3, but given how vigorous the CON checks are for PCs, I just don't see how they could be that unaffected. Within a two month period, I would think that anyone with poor CON in town---the elderly, children, etc---would have become one with the Mother pretty quickly, if they just didn't die outright. Am I misunderstanding the Mother's Gift? Or is this a small flaw in the scenario itself?